Mindful Eating & Eliminating Diabetes

Reposting from… Pamela Ziemann’s Blog

Mindful Eating: Listen on MP3 or on YouTube

Pamela Ziemann and I talk about Mindful Eating and my path to overcoming diabetes. The key for me was being more aware, slowing down and eating less. I became healthier, happier and actually got more done with this approach.

Few years ago, I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. My doctor told me that I will have exercise more, adjust my life style and perhaps take medication. I was overweight and my BMI was high.

I tried to exercise but found it very challenging. Perhaps some people can relate to similar challenges. By increasing my awareness on what to eat, when to eat and How Much to eat I controlled diabetes and now enjoy very healthy weight. The key  difference in my approach this time was to gradually improve my awareness and get into good habits without trying too hard, too fast or too much.

Best Wishes !

Avnish Bhardwaz

10 thoughts on “Mindful Eating & Eliminating Diabetes

  1. Reblogged this on CFCSPN News and commented:
    Pamela Ziemann and I talk about Mindful Eating and my path to overcoming diabetes. The key for me was being more aware, slowing down and eating less. I became healthier, happier and actually got more done with this approach.

    Few years ago, I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. My doctor told me that I will have exercise more, adjust my life style and perhaps take medication. I was overweight and my BMI was high.

    I tried to exercise but found it very challenging. Perhaps some people can relate to similar challenges. By increasing my awareness on what to eat, when to eat and How Much to eat I controlled diabetes and now enjoy very healthy weight. The key difference in my approach this time was to gradually improve my awareness and get into good habits without trying too hard, too fast or too much.

    Best Wishes !

    Avnish Bhardwaz

  2. I’m happy that strategy is working for you; I will attempt to include it in my practices as well. I don’t believe I have diabetes, but I have always struggled with a healthy weight. Thanks.

  3. Current treatments for Type II diabetes are exercise and diet. Since production of insulin is not the problem, exercise and diet and regulating amount of glucose can increase sensitivity of insulin receptors. Best of wishes!

  4. I don’t have diabetes, but to improve my eating, I committed myself to eating one fruit and one vegetable per day. Didn’t try to “diet” or eliminate other foods. Just that simple commitment started me out. Now, I eat much better than just that, but by starting with an easy goal, it makes it easier to transition to a healthy diet!

Leave a Reply

